Wabash Blogs Spreading the Fame

« Colleges That Change Lives - 2009 West Coast Tour | Main | The Legacies of the Class of 2013 »

Boys State Scholarship Program

Marc Welch - On Sunday, the Admissions Office and the National Association of Wabash Men hosted an on-campus Boys State Scholarship Reception. Ninety Boys State delegates and their families packed Ball Theater to listen to an alumni panel moderated by Jake German ’11 and Jake Ezell ’11. Focusing on how Wabash College prepared them for leadership roles in the areas of business, the military, and medicine, alumni panelists included Brian Flanigan ’96, Alex Miller ‘71, Cleo Washington ‘85, and Donald Shelbourne ‘72.
Jon Pactor ‘71 and Professor of Political Science Melissa Butler honored each delegate on stage. Delegates in attendance will receive a $7,500 Boys State scholarship ($30,000 over four years) if they enroll at Wabash. While most delegates were from Indiana, students from West Virginia, Ohio, Kentucky, and Missouri, were in attendance as well. Delegate photos
In addition to our alumni panelists, we would like to thank those alumni in attendance: Pete Allen ’73, Seamus Boyce ’03, Aaron Cook ’06, Craig Green ’59, Chris Greisl ’07, Daryl Johnson ’82, Rob Johnson ’77, Seth Nunan ’07, Keith Veal ’92, and Evan Wagoner ’06. Ben Kessler ’74 attended as both an alumnus and parent for his son who was a Boys State delegate.